Eighteen EU member states vote against solar duties

28.05.2013: EU member states have overwhelmingly voted against the imposition of provisional duties on Chinese solar panels with 18 member states voting against, four in favour and five abstaining.

The result of the EU Council’s vote shows that the European Trade Commissioner, Karel de Gucht, is facing an uphill battle to persuade member states to support the Commission’s proposed average duty rate of 47%. UK and Germany were among the states that voted against, whilst France, Italy and Spain voted for.